The Wisdom of My Fellow Bloggers

As I have mentioned, I started this blog for my Ed. Media Apps class. Throughout my blogging days, my fellow classmates have been blogging their way through the semester too. So, in this post, I will showcase the top three things I have learned from my fellow bloggers.

  1. To begin, in his blog, Wesley Wingert talks to his readers about Green Screening. His this blog posts, he lists a nice little “Q&A” section about the benefits of using the green screen in the classroom. Here’s the section featuring those questions and answers–

Q. Where can I find the materials for a green screen, and how much will it cost?

A. Actually, a cheap and effective way to build a green screen is buy finding an open space and taping or hooking a green shower curtain to the wall. One would also need, preferably, a tripod and a recording device such as an ipad or camcorder.

Q. What devices can use green screen technology?

A. Certain apple devices can download apps (for a small fee) that warp the green screen behind you as you record, but also most computers can change the green screen while editing the footage on imovie.

Q. Where can I find an awesome example of a green screen project?

A. Look no further. Keep in mind, this was done for a school project and used a minimal budget: perfect for teachers!

Any further question?  From working with Wesley on a green screen project, I found that he has many great and innovated ideas for using this tool in the classroom. Green screening is a (simple) way to add a little fun into education. With green screening, the possibilities are endless. Further, I highly recommend checking out the green screening video Wesley posted on his blog. Also, check out his Demoslam on green screening!

2. My fellow blogger Stephanie Walrack talks about Pinterest as collaboration tool in the classroom. Before this post, I only saw Pinterest in the light of DIY home crafts (I am a very crafty person…crafty as in craft-making). Stephanie is also a secondary education major like myself, so I tuned right in to this blog post. She says she looks at Pinterest for lesson plans! I learned from her that you can quite literally search for lesson plan ideas on Pinterest. Goodbye, broad Google search, right? Once you find something you like, you can “pin” it to your board for later usage and even share those ideas with fellow teachers. Give me a second, I have to make a Pinterest account now…

Also, I really like Stephanie’s Philosophy pageI love reading other future teachers’ education philosophies, and Stephanie has some great beliefs!

3. My third learning experience is from Patrick SwansonIn one of his blog posts, he talks about a flipped classroom. I was always intrigued by the idea of a flipped classroom, so Patrick’s post helped answer a lot of my questions. Unfortunately, Patrick had a bad experience with a flipped classroom, but his bad experience helped me to know what not to do in a flipped classroom situation. For example, in a flipped classroom, the lesson is taught outside the classroom–the lesson basically becomes homework. The classroom time then becomes a homework or study session where the students can work with the teacher on any problems that arose when they watched/ listened to the lesson. Because of this, teachers should make their lessons very clear and thorough so students can easily understand them. Aside from the bad, Patrick also highlighted some good aspects of a flipped classroom. Some good points include, students can learn the lesson on their own time which gives them the time they need to learn. Some students need more time to understand a lesson while some need less.

I highly recommend checking out Patrick’s blog post. He posted some links about flipped classrooms that can clear up any confusion or questions that someone might have!

 

Leave a Reply

